E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM General Implementation Discussion

RDM General Implementation Discussion General Discussion and questions relating to implementing RDM in a product.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old September 19th, 2006   #1
sjackman
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Default Checksum curiosa

The spec states that...
Quote:
The Checksum field is the unsigned, modulo 0x10000, 16-bit additive checksum of the entire packet’s slot data, including START Code.
However, the checksum covers a maximum of 255 bytes, each with a maximum value of 255, so the maximum possible checksum is 65025, or 0xfe01. So the checksum is in fact not modulo at all.

Cheers,
Shaun
sjackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006   #2
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

Shaun,

If I recall correctly the Message Length max is 255. That field points to the Slot # of Checksum High. So I believe the max packet is 257 bytes.

If each of those bytes was 255, then the Checksum would be 65535. So in that case it wouldn't roll over.

It would be best for everyone to implement it as a modulo anyway as there will be less problems when/if there is any expansion to it in the future.
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006   #3
sjackman
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Default

The 257 byte maximum includes the two bytes of the checksum, which clearly aren't covered by the checksum. The checksum only covers 255 bytes.
sjackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2006   #4
Brian Sidebotham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Just because you can't get to the roll over point doesn't mean you can't say it's modulo. By it's very definition of being a 16-bit number it has to be modulo 0x10000
Brian Sidebotham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Table 6-6 Checksum Example Error prwatE120 RDM Interpretation Questions 1 January 19th, 2007 07:49 PM
Discovery Checksum Problem Analysis nic123 RDM General Implementation Discussion 3 September 24th, 2006 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.