E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM Interpretation Questions

RDM Interpretation Questions Discussion and questions relating to interpreting and understanding the E1.20 RDM Standard.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old October 12th, 2006   #1
Fokko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Multi-devices or sub-devices

Hello,

I hope someone can help how a multi-channel dimmer should behave with RDM. We can choose between a root using 4 DMX slots, or a root using 0 DMX slots and 4 sub-devices each using 1 DMX slot.

In both cases we can only set the start DMX address, for all 4 dimmer channels, but it seems that this is allowed in both solutions.

Any thoughts?
Fokko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006   #2
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

A lot depends on what other features/parameters you have that you want to expose via RDM.

If it is just a basic dimmer pack with the main setting being a DMX address and the DMX addresses are contiguous for all the dimmers in the pack, then I would probably opt to chose handling it as a root device that uses 4 slots and not go the sub-device route.

If on the other hand you've got a larger rack that can have different types of dimmer modules with different settings/parameters such as module type, dimmer curve, current load, etc.. then sub-devices are the route to go.
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006   #3
Fokko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for your reply.

Well, we are in between; we have two personalities (8 or 16 bit dimming mode), and a current overload status for the whole pack (4 channels). But we also have temperature, and temperature overload status per dimmer channel.

Maybe the choice for sub-devices is not too bad, unless desk manufacturers can not easy handle sub-devices.

Fokko van Duin,
CDS advanced technology bv,
http://www.lanbox.com/
Fokko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2006   #4
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

Sub-Devices were really created with Dimmers in mind, so I'd say it is the way to go. Since RDM is just getting out there, I'm not sure yet right now how well Sub Devices are being represented in controllers.
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2006   #5
wayne@artisticlicence.com
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
Default

Hi Fokko,

Picking up on the question re start address and footprint. We take the following approach:

1) Use sub devices if the product is modular.
2) When we set the start address of the root - it automatically sets all sub start addresses to consecutive patch from that address.
3) Even if the root has a zero footprint, we report to total sub device footprint.

Cheers

Wayne
wayne@artisticlicence.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a minimum required PID list for sub-devices? p_richart RDM Interpretation Questions 4 November 7th, 2008 02:04 PM
Any RDM Responder Devices out there yet? sblair RDM Marketplace Discussion 8 September 20th, 2006 07:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.