E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM General Implementation Discussion

RDM General Implementation Discussion General Discussion and questions relating to implementing RDM in a product.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 13th, 2009   #1
Henne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Default AVR Responder Lib tested with ENTTEC

Hi all,

just before I heard of the Wybron responder Lib I finished my own for the AVR mcu family. It has less features (no message queu) but seems to be much smaller.

Yesterday I tested it with the USB DMX Pro (current RDM FW) and the Controller SW and get a strange behaviour:

A commercial device with my lib and enabled DMX termination is discovered but the controller sw receives no device info response (which is implemented).

Device identification and the change of the start address can be done with the patch tool.

A test circuit without DMX termination with the same lib is not discovered by the controller sw. (The discovery finishes after ~1s without any error messages.) The test circuit indicates the reception of valid discovery msgs and the transmission of the responses...

I appreciate any hint or help.


best regards,
Hendrik

responder source code:
http://www.hoelscher-hi.de/hendrik/l...ces/rdm_in.zip
responder test hardware:
http://www.hoelscher-hi.de/hendrik/english/led.htm
Henne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009   #2
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

Hendrik,

As I understand it, you are able to discover the device successfully and GET/SET the DMX Address, but can't get the DEVICE_INFO message.

First thing I would do is put a scope on the line and see if the device appears to be responding at all. It could be that the timing window for receiving the message is off.

If you aren't seeing any response on the wire at all, then I would look at the data you're sending in the GET:DEVICE_INFO message, make sure that all the fields have valid data and the checksum is correct. It's easy for something like that to cause the responder to trash your request as being invalid...
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.