E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM General Implementation Discussion

RDM General Implementation Discussion General Discussion and questions relating to implementing RDM in a product.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old April 16th, 2012   #1
erwin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default Wireshark Arnet/RDM/DMX dissector

Hey all,

I am currently updating the Wireshark Artnet dissector to better support RDM (over Artnet). The same time I created a DMX and RDM dissector.

What I am now looking for are capture files of Artnet RDM traffic, to verify the dissectors. So if anybody out there is using Artnet I would be tankful if they could provide some capture files.

- Erwin
erwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2012   #2
nomis52
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Franciscio
Posts: 57
Default

Thanks for doing this.

You can generate this traffic yourself using OLA (http://www.opendmx.net/index.php/OLA). Start up an instance on two hosts, patch the Dummy RDM responder to an ArtNet universe and use the web UI on the other instance to send RDM over ArtNet traffic.
nomis52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2012   #3
erwin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Ah interesting project, might have to add dissectors for the other supported protocols like sandnet and shownet too :-)

But I still would like to see some real world capture files from different kinds of devices.
erwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012   #4
mike_k
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 40
Default

If you PM me the email address you want it to, I can send you some files...
__________________
Michael Karlsson
LumenRadio AB
mike_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2012   #5
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Here is a wireshark capture of the traffic between AL's DMX Workshop and an Art-Net node. The Node has a single Lab-Pack RDM responder connected to the first port.

I hope this helps.

Thanks for doing the Wireshark work, it's sorely needed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Art-RDM.zip (21.3 KB, 420 views)
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2012   #6
erwin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default

New test version of Wireshark with Artnet, RDM, DMX support. Windows 32bit only, if no big problems are found I will start pushing things upstream so it will end up in the official wireshark release.

http://downloads.erwinrol.com/Wiresh...-1.7.2-RDM.exe
erwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012   #7
erwin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Hey all, the Wireshark team released a 1.8.0rc1 version. That version includes my latest Artnet/RDM work. So now ppl with OS/X can try it too. Just checkout the download page; http://www.wireshark.org/download.html

update: If you find bugs, let me know ASAP, so I can fix them before they release 1.8.0!

- Erwin
erwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012   #8
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Hey, great, thank you for doing this work!
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2012   #9
nomis52
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Franciscio
Posts: 57
Default

I tested 1.8.0rc1 on mac and can't find any problems. Thanks for this.
nomis52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2012   #10
Methi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I'm testing/ using 1.8.0rc1. I think there are some things to do better:

First it doesn't support Artnet III ?
Second thing is on an ArtTodRequest: It doesn't displays the command-byte correct (still there is only one command (0x00) yet) it should be known ans "TodFull" and not "unknown".

I will further use it and report if I find (more) errors;

It's much better then the old version, thanks

Greetings

Methi
Methi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2012   #11
pkirkup
Task Group Member
 
pkirkup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to pkirkup
Default

Hi Erwin

I just spotted a small bug in the plugin.

In this packet, our controller has sent a GET:SUB_DEVICE_REPORT_THRESHOLD to Subdevice 0, and the responder as responded with a NACK: Reason 0x0009 (SubDevice out of range) - the allowed range is 0x0001-0x0200.

Wireshark has correctly determined the PDL of the Nack_Response packet as 2, but only takes the first byte before moving on to validate the checksum using the second half of the response.



Hopefully a quick easy fix for you?


Peter
__________________
Peter Kirkup
VP Entertainment - LumenRadio AB
peter.kirkup@lumenradio.com
pkirkup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2012   #12
SeanSill
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 25
Default

Anyway we can get this ported over to the draft E1.33? Would be very useful. Simon and I have already started laying out prototype implementations.
SeanSill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.