E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM Interpretation Questions

RDM Interpretation Questions Discussion and questions relating to interpreting and understanding the E1.20 RDM Standard.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old April 4th, 2014   #1
docsale
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Default PRESET_PLAYBACK of a non programmed Scene

Hi,

what is supposed to do a responder device if the controller send a PRESET_PLAYBACK command with a Scene number supported but not programmed?

- Answare NACK_OUT_OF_RANGE and stays in the current status: probably this is the right behaviour if the Scene number is out of supported range
- Answare ACK and stays in the current status: in this case the controller doesn't see any error and thinks everything is ok
- Any other possibility?

If controller implements the E1.37 it should know if a scene is programmed throught PRESET_STATUS command, but only few controller are compliant with E1.37!

Any suggestion?
docsale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2014   #2
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docsale View Post
- Answare NACK_OUT_OF_RANGE and stays in the current status: probably this is the right behaviour if the Scene number is out of supported range
This is acceptable behavior.

Quote:
Originally Posted by docsale View Post
- Answare ACK and stays in the current status: in this case the controller doesn't see any error and thinks everything is ok
This is not a good idea. It can confuse the user if they tell it to change presets, but nothing happens.

If it were my product, I would probably have a default look recorded into every scene. This way there's always something to play back. For a dimmer, it would simply be all channels off. For an LED fixture I'd have various colors and patterns. When the user records their own scene, it records over the default looks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by docsale View Post
If controller implements the E1.37 it should know if a scene is programmed throught PRESET_STATUS command, but only few controller are compliant with E1.37!
I've only seen a few controllers with E1.37. I suspect we'll see more updated to support it over the next year or two.
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2014   #3
prwatE120
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 180
Default

Best use NACK : DATA_OUT_OF_RANGE

Last edited by prwatE120; April 8th, 2014 at 03:32 PM. Reason: spelling
prwatE120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRESET_PLAYBACK and Non volatile memory docsale RDM General Implementation Discussion 1 April 1st, 2014 02:31 AM
PRESET_PLAYBACK berntd RDM Interpretation Questions 1 October 18th, 2009 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.