E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM General Implementation Discussion

RDM General Implementation Discussion General Discussion and questions relating to implementing RDM in a product.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 28th, 2012   #1
berntd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 102
Default RDM Master UID assignment question

Hello

Can I make all the RDM masters of a certain type of product/ model have the same UID?

I am just wondering because there can only ever be one master on the bus so it should not matter.

Opinions?

Best regards
bernt
berntd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2012   #2
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 417
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

Bernt,

I'm not aware of anywhere that this should cause something to break. Worst case would be if you are connecting to some type of clever system that does something specific when it sees a controller change, i.e. someone flipping a Priamry/Backup switch on the console.

There is nothing defined in RDM itself that would be affected.

Where it WILL be an issue is if this RDM Master is going to connect to an E1.33 network in the future!
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2012   #3
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by berntd View Post
Can I make all the RDM masters of a certain type of product/ model have the same UID?
Doing this would violate section 5.1 of the RDM standard which requires that "The 32-bit device ID shall be unique throughout all products manufactured under a specific Manufacturer ID..."

It's also a bad idea. It will probably work most of the time, but could cause problems in systems that have multi-port proxies, mergers, or multi-port responders.
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2012   #4
berntd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 102
Default

Hello and thanks.

I was only considering it becaue the actual assignment of the UID is a process which our manufacturers struggle with and it is easy to get it wrong or not do it alltogther.


Regards
Bernt
berntd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2012   #5
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 358
Default

There are lots of ways to assign UIDs to your RDM devices.

Most EPROM and Device programmers offer a serialization feature that can put a unique serial number into non-volatile memory at the same time it burns the firmware.

You can also implement a manufacturer specific "Set UID" PID and set the UID after the device is fully assembled. This can be done manually, but it's also possible to use a batch file or shell script.

Finally, there are inexpensive serial number ICs available that connect to your system via an I2C or one-wire bus.
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relative frequency of UID set changes to RDM messages events nomis52 RDM General Implementation Discussion 6 July 6th, 2010 10:02 PM
Master list of RDM Product IDs pkirkup RDM General Implementation Discussion 1 July 29th, 2009 10:33 AM
DISC_UNIQUE_BRANCH dest UID (section 7.3) berntd RDM Interpretation Questions 5 October 15th, 2008 09:06 PM
Master Fader accross Rdm implementation Question berntd RDM General Implementation Discussion 1 May 9th, 2008 12:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.