E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums

E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums (http://www.rdmprotocol.org/forums/index.php)
-   RDM Interpretation Questions (http://www.rdmprotocol.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   PRESET_PLAYBACK of a non programmed Scene (http://www.rdmprotocol.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1203)

docsale April 4th, 2014 04:29 AM

PRESET_PLAYBACK of a non programmed Scene
 
Hi,

what is supposed to do a responder device if the controller send a PRESET_PLAYBACK command with a Scene number supported but not programmed?

- Answare NACK_OUT_OF_RANGE and stays in the current status: probably this is the right behaviour if the Scene number is out of supported range
- Answare ACK and stays in the current status: in this case the controller doesn't see any error and thinks everything is ok
- Any other possibility?

If controller implements the E1.37 it should know if a scene is programmed throught PRESET_STATUS command, but only few controller are compliant with E1.37!

Any suggestion?

ericthegeek April 4th, 2014 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by docsale (Post 2783)
- Answare NACK_OUT_OF_RANGE and stays in the current status: probably this is the right behaviour if the Scene number is out of supported range

This is acceptable behavior.

Quote:

Originally Posted by docsale (Post 2783)
- Answare ACK and stays in the current status: in this case the controller doesn't see any error and thinks everything is ok

This is not a good idea. It can confuse the user if they tell it to change presets, but nothing happens.

If it were my product, I would probably have a default look recorded into every scene. This way there's always something to play back. For a dimmer, it would simply be all channels off. For an LED fixture I'd have various colors and patterns. When the user records their own scene, it records over the default looks.

Quote:

Originally Posted by docsale (Post 2783)
If controller implements the E1.37 it should know if a scene is programmed throught PRESET_STATUS command, but only few controller are compliant with E1.37!

I've only seen a few controllers with E1.37. I suspect we'll see more updated to support it over the next year or two.

prwatE120 April 8th, 2014 03:32 PM

Best use NACK : DATA_OUT_OF_RANGE


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.