E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM Timing Discussion

RDM Timing Discussion Discussion and questions relating to the timing requirements of RDM.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 29th, 2007   #1
Dan Scheurell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 4
Default RDM Controller timing clarification

I’d like to verify my understanding of the RDM Controller Packet Spacing Times. These are given in Table 3-2 of the RDM spec.

For discovery, a controller sends the command and then waits up to 2.8 ms. If no response, then there are no responders and we move on to the next branch. If there is a response within 2.8 ms, then receive responses until a total of 5.8 ms has passed. So, from the controller's point-of-view, a discovery response always takes either 2.8 ms (no responses) or 5.8 ms (responses).

For normal operation, the controller waits up to 2.8 ms for the response. If no response is received, then wait another 200 us before sending any other packet.

Is this a correct reading of the spec?

Thank you,
Dan


Last edited by Dan Scheurell; March 29th, 2007 at 03:43 PM.
Dan Scheurell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2007   #2
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

Dan,

Your understanding is pretty close I'd say. My reading of the document would say that as a Controller you must always wait 5.8mS after sending a Discovery packet before transmitting any other packet, including another Discovery Packet.

I'm not sure why we stated in that manner though other than to make sure there isn't any missed traffic as a result of collisions happening. Worst case, if the responders waited until right up until the end of their window to start transmitting and then you have collisions, it might be possible to miss the response and then incorrectly infer that there was nothing in that branch.

Scott
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2014   #3
gthaliath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 15
Default

Hi Scott,
We have been working on responders and while doing a discovery with different RDM controllers they all come up with diffrerent numbers.

We had a test setup of 32 nodes on a network(1km long) and the controller used where

1.Controll Freak(ADDICT)
2.ENTTEC(RDM USB pro)
3.DMXter 4 RDM

out of which the second two worked fine.
But the ADDICT was showing numbers all over the place.(26 to 34)(34 when it was showing address not on the network, no way or cross talk from any other devices just a random address)

how could we check if the responders on the network are working fine in respect to timing.

Regards
George
gthaliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2014   #4
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthaliath View Post
But the ADDICT was showing numbers all over the place.(26 to 34)(34 when it was showing address not on the network, no way or cross talk from any other devices just a random address)
This is a common problem with RDM controllers that don't implement discovery properly.

During discovery, you have lots of responders trying to respond at once. Sometimes these collisions will line up in such a way that it looks like a valid discovery response for a non-existent responder UID.

When it sees a valid discovery response, the controller is supposed to mute the UID from that response, and then only add it to the list of discovered devices if the responder replies to the mute request. But some poorly implemented controllers add the non-existent UID even when there's no response.

Make sure you're running the newest firmware on the ADDICT. If you still have the problem get in touch with the manufacturer and work with them to get the problem solved. It might help to point them to these forums.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthaliath View Post
how could we check if the responders on the network are working fine in respect to timing.
I'd start with your DMXter. Run a full discovery. In the "RDM Controller" menu, there is a "View Responder Timing" option, this will show you details about discovery timing.
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2014   #5
gthaliath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks Erick
gthaliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENTTEC RDM controller (subdevices) nic123 RDM Marketplace Discussion 3 October 24th, 2007 12:03 AM
Time between controller packets Dan Scheurell RDM Timing Discussion 1 April 1st, 2007 11:38 PM
Welcome to the RDM Timing Discussion Forum sblair RDM Timing Discussion 0 May 31st, 2006 10:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.