E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums  

Go Back   E1.20 RDM (Remote Device Management) Protocol Forums > RDM Developer Forums > RDM Physical Layer/Hardware Discussion

RDM Physical Layer/Hardware Discussion Discussion and questions relating to the physical or hardware layer of RDM.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old October 31st, 2013   #1
berntd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 102
Default DMX splitter with Rdm - design

Hello

I am looking at designing a new DMX splitter. The question is whether I can make it RDM compliant or not, given the cost retraints.

Can one have such a splitter without a whole Proxy processor setup?

The only real porblem I see with a real basic solution is switching between tx/rx for each port.

Has anyone done something like this or have any ideas?

Regards
Bernt
berntd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2013   #2
ericthegeek
Task Group Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by berntd View Post
Can one have such a splitter without a whole Proxy processor setup?
YES!

There are lots of splitters out there that don't act as a proxy. I've personally build two of them, one fully manageable and protocol aware, the other extremely simple with only minimal intelligence.

The standard was specifically designed to allow for relatively simple inline devices such as splitters. Take a close look at the timing section of the standard, this is the reason you're allowed to shorten breaks for normal responses and to drop preamble bytes in the DUB response (among other accommodations).

Whichever route you go when you're designing a splitter, plan on spending a lot of quality time with your oscilloscope. Getting it "mostly right" is easy. Dealing with all the pathological corner cases is a whole lot harder.
ericthegeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2013   #3
sblair
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 417
Send a message via AIM to sblair Send a message via MSN to sblair
Default

Most of the splitters available out there that are RDM compliant do not act as Proxies. There was a lot of work done by the Task Group to make it possible to do splitter implementations that required minimal logic.

The timings are all based on giving splitters time to turn the wire around and the Discovery messages have the pre-amble that allow bytes to be dropped from it just for this reason.

At a minimum level you just need to be start code aware to know when to turn the bus around and allow return data back. It's also best if you have some jabber protection in there for a misbehaved link too.
__________________
Scott M. Blair
RDM Protocol Forums Admin
sblair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware design questions ELMVideo RDM Physical Layer/Hardware Discussion 14 July 21st, 2013 02:52 PM
Anybody actually doing any opensource RDM design percramer RDM General Implementation Discussion 0 September 19th, 2006 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.